From the Rough

Golf without discretion

Two quarterfinal Accenture bets to bank on

leave a comment »

That face of indifference staring back at you from this post is how I’m feeling right now. I knew this day was coming, but I didn’t expect to post a losing record on Friday — especially after I turned off the TV thinking I had 3-2 in the bag.

Thanks a lot, Nick Watney. I can now cross you off my list of guys I’ll never hype up again. So I’m 11-4, which is a pretty respectable number when you consider I’ve had at least one underdog cash every day of the tournament. But I’m not breaking my arm to pat my back … no way! I still have TWO more days of picks to make this tournament as profitable as possible. With only four matches on the slate for tomorrow, I’m going to pick my favorite two for my readers. I’m nice like that.

Miguel Angel Jimenez (+150) over Martin Kaymer: The lone top seed left in the tournament, Kaymer would seem to be the logical pick in this spot. He’s younger, has been playing solid all week, and has the steely German stare, which is pretty damn intimidating. But I’m still not sold on Kaymer. Jimenez had been a roller coaster in his opening two matches before Friday’s demolition of Ben Crane. I think he’s peaking at the right time and the way this tournament has played out, I wouldn’t be surprised to see another upset in the quarterfinals.

Ryan Moore (+120) over Luke Donald: Two dogs in the quarterfinals, you say? Why yes, I’m going with the barking dogs all the way to the bank! (Side note: I’m sorry for talking like a sports handicapper; I think three days of betting posts has clouded my ability to write a coherent sentence.) Moore has been wielding a hot putter, as evident by his brilliant performance against Nick Watney in the round of 16. Luke Donald has gone far in this tournament, but he’s always had trouble going deep in this event. I think his luck runs out against a guy who’s playing some damn good golf at the moment.

Written by Jonathan Wall

02/25/2011 at 11:29 pm

Posted in PGA Tour

Leave a Reply

