From the Rough

Golf without discretion

Five third round Accenture bets to bank on

leave a comment »

I have to apologize to my loyal FTR readers (assuming I have any) that heeded my warning yesterday. After telling you my luck would eventually run out, I went on a big run … and ran the table with a perfect 5-0 record. Assuming you took my advice and bet all five in a parlay, well you better be prepared to send me some of those winnings! Share the wealth, that’s what I always say.

I’m going into uncharted territory with these third round picks. With only eight matches to choose from, I’m most likely going to force a couple and lose. Or I could go out and run the table again, but I’m going to go with the former this time around. But enough of the small talk; here are today’s picks. Let’s hope I don’t lay a goose egg.

Accenture betting record – 9-1

Geoff Ogilvy (-140) over Bubba Watson: I was a huge fan of Bubba in this spot, until I found out he was playing Ogilvy in the third round. I’m sorry, but there are only two of three players left in the bracket that I feel really confident about, and the Aussie happens to be one of them. It’s a battle of Estancia versus Whisper Rock, and this time around I’m taking Whisper Rock to win.

Miguel Angel Jimenez (+115) over Ben Crane: Another tough pick for me, personally. Crane is a great guy and has been playing some brilliant golf this week, but I just think his 8 & 7 win over Rory McIlroy was just too good to be true. Jimenez has been here before — he’s one of only two left in the field to ever advance to the quarterfinals — so I like the experience in this matchup.

Rickie Fowler (-125) over Matt Kuchar: This feels like a sucker bet to me, but I’ll bite anyway. Kuchar is the kind of guy who can sneak up on you, and while I’d love to take the GT grad in this spot, I keep going back to Fowler’s match against Mickelson. How can you go against him after that performance? You could say the same thing about Crane, but don’t forget Fowler’s thrived on the biggest stage.

Nick Watney (-150) over Ryan Moore: Like Fowler, I’m going with the hot hand in this match. As I mentioned in my previous post, Watney is a guy you don’t want to play right now. I think Moore runs into a buzzsaw.

Luke Donald (-175) over Matteo Manassero: That sound you hear is me coughing on a bunch of chalk (all favorites in this round), which I’m not sure is a very smart idea. Regardless, it’s hard to go against Donald in this spot. Manassero has given me two brilliant wins but I just don’t see him advancing to the next round.

Written by Jonathan Wall

02/24/2011 at 11:26 pm

Posted in PGA Tour

Leave a Reply

