From the Rough

Golf without discretion

It’s official: Tiger Woods will make his return at The Masters

with one comment

You knew it was coming. The greatest tournament in the world and the greatest golfer in the world will once again collide on April 8th, when Tiger Woods resumes his golf career at The Masters. Quite honestly, I’m not surprised to see Woods make the announcement today — especially considering the number of people that were waiting with bated breath to see if he’d commit to Bay Hill.

“The Masters is where I won my first major and I view this tournament with great respect,” Woods said. “After a long and necessary time away from the game, I feel like I’m ready to start my season at Augusta.

“The major championships have always been a special focus in my career and, as a professional, I think Augusta is where I need to be, even though it’s been a while since I last played.”

It looks like we got our answer. Like I mentioned in a previous post a couple days ago, I still question if Tiger’s making the right choice to return at The Masters.

I know Augusta’s controlled environment makes sense for a return after a very high-profile layoff. But I can’t help but believe he’s putting too much pressure on how the public will react to his return, as opposed to how such a layoff could affect his golf game. If anything, I would have expected Tiger to do what he did when he came back from knee surgery and play one or two events before Augusta.

It would have essentially given Tiger the chance to get the butterfly’s out of his system before the “big one” at the course he could walk with his eyes closed. Plus, the hype and pressure would have been at a manageable level. Instead, Tiger will be walking into tournament where the buildup will be the likes of which he’s never seen. Even still, Tiger’s the man, and he’s going to make his return when he’s ready.

There’s no second-guessing him after today, folks. We’re officially in Tiger Woods countdown mode, and I for one couldn’t be more excited.

Written by Jonathan Wall

03/16/2010 at 3:34 pm

Posted in PGA Tour, Tiger Woods

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How you think when the economic crisis will end? I wish to make statistics of independent opinions!


Leave a Reply

