From the Rough

Golf without discretion

Here’s hoping Bubba Watson wins the Bob Hope Classic

leave a comment »

With the final group on the course for today’s final round of the Bob Hope Classic, I figured it made sense to put my chips on the table and pick a horse to root for this afternoon. While it’d be really easy to pull for Matt Kuchar or Ryan Moore to hoist the trophy, I think most golf fans are in agreement that one name would really add a little spice to the event if he won, and that player is Bubba Watson.

Watson, one of the big bombers on tour, is looking to secure his first tour victory in California, after falling short in the past. Tiger’s departure from the tour for an undisclosed amount of time means other players could should step up and carry the torch in his absence. One of them could be Watson.

Honestly, I’d love to see Watson win if for no other reason than to see him get off the schnide. But screw it, there’s a better reason to see Big Bubba win, and that’s the “gift” he plans on buying win he makes it to the winners circle.

“I’m definitely going to get me a Dukes of Hazzard car, a replica that I’m definitely going to get if I win a golf tournament, because my wife said I can do that if I win,” he said. “So if I win, I’m getting a Dukes of Hazzard General Lee.”

General Lee. Are you kidding me? Forget buying a second home or a new Rolex for his watch collection, he’s rather have the car from the Dukes of Hazzard. I’ll be honest, I don’t know if there’s a better tournament victory gift out there. Scratch that, there is no better gift out there.

Here’s hoping Watson has the horsepower to overtake the rest of the field.

Written by Jonathan Wall

01/25/2010 at 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

