From the Rough

Golf without discretion

Sleep is a golfer’s best friend … or so I’m told

with one comment

sleep-schedule

Admit it; you don’t get enough sleep. I recently asked a couple of guys I golf with to give me an average for the number of hours they sleep per night. They reeled of pretty common numbers: four hours, five hours, six hours.

Yep, we definitely don’t get enough sleep these days. But if you’re considering the idea of lowering your handicap or improving your slice, you may want to pay attention to a study done by the American College of Chest Physicians (the college really does exist):

Sleep apnea treatment improved golfers’ handicap ratings by more than one stroke on average, according to research presented at the annual conference of the American College of Chest Physicians. After 20 rounds of golf, the group treated with a form of nightly nasal ventilation saw their handicap drop from 12.4 strokes to 11 strokes. Interestingly, the best golfers in the group improved their scores the most.

So I guess the study only helps golfers with Sleep apnea. However, I guess you could try the study on your sleep-deprived body and see if it works for you as well. I know I played my best golf on a couple hours of sleep; but that’s just me.

Written by Jonathan Wall

11/03/2009 at 3:36 pm

Posted in Random

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this post. Hope you to post useful article soon

    Dorche

    05/13/2010 at 10:07 am


Leave a Reply

