From the Rough

Golf without discretion

I doubt Ian Poulter will be tweeting after today’s round

leave a comment »

57914245

After firing a 9-over 79 in the second round of the British Open, I doubt we’ll be hearing anything from British hopeful Ian Poulter via his twitter feed. After getting off to a dreadful start on Thursday, Poulter went even farther south on Friday. That means no more Union Jack outfits. That, my friends, could be the biggest loss of all.

You can officially take him out of your British Open pool. Even though you’d expect him to be in poor spirits, I just read an article where he was quoted as being in “good humor.” Good humor after a 9-over 79?!? I guess some of us take things like that differently. If Tiger shot 79 (which at the moment looks possible), I’d imagine you wouldn’t see him at the bar hanging out and laughing it up. I guess you have to tip your cap to the guy for staying calm.

“My week’s done, thank God,” he said. “I’m going to get down the M6 and get home.” The next tournament for Poulter will be Akron, Ohio, for the WGC Bridgestone in August, followed by the PGA Championship at Hazeltine, Minn.

“It wasn’t so much the pin positions that were the problem for me this week,” he said. “It was the green positions. Maybe I should have had a beer in the pub instead of that mineral water!”

Truer words have never been spoken, Mr. Poulter.

Written by Jonathan Wall

07/17/2009 at 5:25 pm

Posted in British Open, Turnberry

Leave a Reply

